top of page
  • Writer's pictureboardgamesandbrews

No Bad Games: My Review Philosophy


Let me be clear, I am sure there are games that exist that I absolutely wouldn't like, but that doesn't make something a bad game. I have yet to play a game where I couldn't find something that I didn't like, rather there are games that I like more than other. Games should be a positive experience that bring people around the table, so I always first look at the experience, over the game itself. Did our group enjoy it? Did it allow for conversation? Did it drag when someone lost focus? Did someone get upset? Did it leave people wanting to play more? Games for me bring people together, and the game can do that, even if some mechanics are lacking. Next I look for the things that I enjoyed. Maybe it's the art, or the relaxing vibe, a quick play time, or simply an exciting turn. I love worker placement and resource management, but find a lot of joy in a turn of perfect luck. There is usually something good that can be found in a game. If there are aspects about the game that I did not enjoy, I try not to think of it as a bad game, but rather to figure out what it was about the play that I did not like. I don't like when a game has low player interact, with only a handful of cards that effect other players. They tend to leave people feeling targeted. I also don't like when the "fun" strategy for a game isn't really a viable one.


TL;DR Games should bring people together, and something positive can always be found.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page