top of page
  • Writer's pictureboardgamesandbrews

Dynamite Card Game (Kickstarter Preview)


Dynamite Card Game (2021)

Published by: HT Games


Players: 2-4

Age: 7+ (could probably be lower)

Play Time: 5 minutes/round


Overview: In Dynamite Card Game players are miners, competing for the most valuable haul of precious nuggets. Mine your way to victory, but don't forget to sabotage the competition along the way! Dynamite Card Game will be on Kickstarter in early March.


Main Mechanics:

  • Dice rolling

Components Review: One of the things I love about getting to preview games before release is seeing them in their prototype stage and being able to see the final product... and boy am I excited to see the final product of this one because it already looks so good. The first thing you notice is the fantastic little box. Its not much bigger than 2 or 3 packs of cards, and it not only looks great but packs a lot in. The prospector mascot is wonderful and I would like to see him used more. Personally the card art isn't my favorite. Don't get me wrong, it's good and really clean, but I'm just not a fan of the look of nuggets (though to be fair they do depict what nuggets actually look like). The cards are expected to be a linen finish which will be great, though holographic cards would really make the nuggets shine! The game includes gold nuggets gem-like pieces which come in a convenient pouch and are awesome. HT Games says the nugget quality will also be higher, though they already look great! Lastly, the rules are are short and easy to understand, making for a quick introduction to a quick playing game.


How to Play:

Dynamite Card Game is played over a series of rounds. During rounds, players take turns drawing cards and rolling dice. Cards are either nuggets (score points), rocks (no points), or dynamite. On your turn draw up to a hand size of 3 and roll the dice. When rolling the dice, players have one of two results: pickaxe or dynamite. Pickaxes are used to collect nugget cards, adding them to a player's score pile. Dynamite is used to clear rocks, but can also be used to blow up your opponents haul, after collecting 3. The game continues in player order, drawing cards and rolling dice until the deck is depleted. At that point the round is scored and the player with the most valuable haul wins a golden nugget gem piece. There isn't currently a suggested number of rounds, so play as many as you want! My wife and I in two play games played the first to 3 points.


Gameplay Review:

The gameplay of Dynamite is very easy to learn, with a quick play time and quick turns. Dynamite definitely knows what it is, a family game. There's not any complex strategy, back stabbing, or crazy ways to score, just good old-fashioned luck. This game seems great for kids. The recommended age is 7+ though I could see myself playing with my own kids when they are 4 or 5 (what kid doesn't like rolling dice). My wife and I had pretty high scores in our two player game which, as a math teach, I immediately thought it was great for math promotion.


Stretch goal ideas:

This section is my own fantasy imagining of stretch goals that would be awesome with infinite time and money.

- Player dice - I'd love a set of dice per player (or at least two sets to make our two player games even faster). Make player dice different colors for extra imagination.

- Engraved dice - this one speaks for itself. Who doesn't like custom engraved dice?

- Card finish - linen finish on cards is always welcome, but a glossy or even holofoil finish would really make the nuggets pop!


Final Thoughts:

I like the theme and concept of Dynamite and think its well executed. On top of that, my wife likes the game, making it an instant win. As said above, I think it makes a great family game and is one that I would play with my own kids. I can't wait to see the final product!


Dynamite Card Game will be on Kickstarter in early March.



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page